The Subversive

In a conformist society, drawing is looked upon as a subversive act.

atari-jam-tucker

It’s worse than playing video games!

I woke up today with that statement in my head. And I got a lot of feedback regarding it. I really touches a nerve. And I believe it to be very true.
The act alone causes rebellion, because in school you are not going along with the structured class regiment.. I got in more trouble for just drawing to myself, then anything else really. It causes fights.. Social unrest..


“MIKE, STOP DRAWING AND PAY ATTENTION!”


I’d get in trouble with my dad about drawing in church. Even at jobs.
Sure when it would be of certain things that wasn’t look well upon.. but just that I was doing it.. was somehow causing problems.
See I had no real early art instruction really at all. Sure I had encouragement to always keep it up, from the same people that also try to force me to stop.
Art is to powerfull! Art is dangerous. Art is the work of Satan.. Along with dancing!

Leave a Reply

